Kick Sarcoma Events

Title and navigation
<<<Dec 2017>>>
Dec 2017
Research  > Australian National University John Curtin School

Australian National University John Curtin School of Medical Research (ANU-JCSMR)

Founded in 1948, the John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR), Australian National University, is Australia's national medical research institute. The School was conceptualized by Australia-born Baron Howard Florey, who won the Nobel Prize in 1945 for his contribution to create penicillin as a drug, while working at Oxford University.

JCSMR has had the distinction of three investigators receiving Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine for work conducted at the school: Sir John Eccles in 1963 and Peter Doherty and Rolf Zinkernagel in 1996. A former Director, Professor Frank Fenner, was the Chairman of the Global Commission for the Certification of Smallpox Eradication.

JCMSR excels in ground-breaking, multidisciplinary translational medical research in the fields of immunology, genomics, cancer, neuroscience, mental health, infectious diseases, obesity and metabolic disorders.

The Sarah-Grace Sarcoma Foundation chose JCSMR due to their extraordinary contributions to medical science and, in particular, cancer research.  Inquiries regarding research pertaining to sarcomas can be directed by clicking here to ASK THE RESEARCHER.